Awards received by Dr. Manibhai Desai, Founder of BAIF

1968Padma Shri for rural upliftment and community development

1977 Doctor of Science (D. Sc.) (Honoris Causa) by Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Rahuri, Ahmednagar

1982 Ramon Magsaysay Award for Public Service being received from Ferdinand Marcos, President of Philippines in Manila

1983 Jamnalal Bajaj Award for application of Science and Technology for Rural Development

1984 Doctor of Literature (D. Litt.) (Honoris Causa) by South Gujarat University, Surat

Major Awards received by BAIF

2017 Vasantrao Naik Puraskar for Excellence in Agriculture among NGOs from Sri. Pandurang Fundkar, Agric. Minister, GoM

20158th Agriculture Leadership Award from
Shri. Rajnath Singh, Union Home Minister and
Prof. M.S. Swaminathan in New Delhi

2013The Plant Genome Savior Community Award to a Seed Saver Group from Mr. Tariq Anwar, MoS, Agriculture, GoM

2012ICICI Inclusive India Award for Sustainable Livelihoods Impact category (Established NGO) from Mr. Kapil Sibal, Union Minister for HRD, in Mumbai.

2012Rojgar Jagrookata Puraskar 2010-2011 for BISLD-Karnataka from Smt. Sonia Gandhi,Chairperson, NAC and Dr. Manmohan Singh,Prime Minister of India

2012Sitaram Jindal Prize 2012 for Agriculture, Rural Developmentand Poverty Alleviation from Sri Sri Ravishankar,Art of Living Foundation

2011The Times of India Social Impact Award for outstanding contribution to Environment in backward districts of Maharashtra from  Dr. Manmohan Singh, Prime Minister of India

2010Best Water NGO National Award supported by UNESCO and Ministry of Water Resources, GoI, for Revival of Rural Water Resources, Water Harvesting and Water Education in New Delhi

2008India NGO Award for good governance by The Resource 
Alliance and N & J Khemka Foundation, New Delhi

2007Indira Priyadarshini Paryavaran Puraskar to BAIF Karnataka by Smt. Pratibha Patil,
President of India

2005Indian Innovation Award for innovative approaches in poverty alleviation from Dr. Abdul Kalam, President of India in Delhi

1997 Adivasi Seva Sanstha  Award for tribal development in Ahmednagar, Thane and Raigad districts of Maharashtra

1986 Indira Priyadarshini Vrikshamitra Award. Received by 
Dr. Manibhai Desai from Shri. Rajiv Gandhi, Prime Minister of India

1978FICCI Award for Rural Development

 2022 – Gopal Ratna National Award for “Best AI Technician” awarded to Shri. Gopal Rana, a BAIF Artificial Insemination Technician from Balangir, Odisha, on November 26, 2022 in Bengaluru.  The award was conferred on him by Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan, Hon’ble Minister of State – Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying, Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying, Government of India and Shri. Rajesh Kumar Singh, Secretary, Animal Husbandry Department, Government of India